Summer’s Almost Gone

24 08 2008

My birthday was this week, and for me that’s always meant that summer is almost gone.  When I was a kid it signalled about two weeks until school started.  Of course now it means that school is just around the corner.  No update last week because my Dad and I went to New York to see a few games at Yankee Stadium. While there I did stop at one of the best comic book stores in the world, Forbidden Planet.

It’s going to be comics heavy this week…

  • First, I just read Captain America #41 and while this series doesn’t seem to be closing up any loose ends, I love it. The Red Skull’s plan seems to be coming together and unravelling at the same time, the mental fake Cap is still running around, and James/Bucky is really figuring out how to be Captain America (as evidenced by events in this book). Check out LOTRKing’s review.
  • I also have to mention that Secret Invasion continues to be great. Is the tide turning? It’s starting to look like we might have some hope against the Skrull invasion. My only complaint with this crossover is that I wish the main Secret Invasion book had more and the crossover titles less. I miss the old days when limited series told the entire story (like Secret Wars). In the meantime, check out LOTRKing’s review here.
  • Also noteworthy of late are the Fantastic Four and a new Mark Millar book War Heroes.
  • The AVClub has two comics-related articles this week; one that ties comics to the Olympics, the other is its comics’ panel which also mentioned War Heroes.

In comics and movies, Sam from Electricity & Lust (on his Screenjabber blog) checks in on the Watchmen buzz.

In links, it looks like Electricity & Lust have been out of touch for a while too. They have a bunch of links this week.

I think that might be it for now. There are one or two music items I might write about over at ROCKIST. Off to watch some Battlestar Gallactica and tackle my ever-growing pile of comics.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

