Happy Memorial Day

25 05 2008

A horribly busy week followed by a three-day weekend means that my post this week will short and sweet.  Plus, Sean (the comic book geek in training) is next to me and kicking me in the ribs while I type.  I’m currently awaiting the new Black Angels album to come in the mail, but Amazon.com’s shipping is slow.  I’m starting to think they hold up super saver shipping to encourage people to pay more.  Again I ask my readers to let me know if there are any quality indy record stores out there with a good web pressence. 

First, let’s start with comics. i thought it was going to be a light comics week but then my pile grew yet again with all kinds of good stuff. Some day I’ll be sharing my thoughts on comics’ arcs from a year earlier, confusing everyone. In the meantime some place to check out include:

In music, a few things to note:

  • Mudhoney of all bands is getting some love. Their early work is being reissued, and they have a new album, The Lucky Ones coming out. It’s nice to see the best band who never got noticed by the public finally get some notice.
  • Tom Petty has gotten back together with Mudcrutch. I’ve heard some of it on Sirius and it’s not half bad.

In fiction, the New York Times remembered Ian Flemming, and One-Story has released issue #103.

Finally, who says that video games have no redeeming social value, suck up too much time and make kids fat?!? Now we have the Wii Fit.   Oh yeah, and I guess a few big movies have come out but something keeps stopping me from being able to go. Have a great weekend everyone!

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 06 2008
crazycrashink

speaking of comics.. I got turned onto them when I took an american studies class in science fiction lit. I’m by no means an expert on comic books, but if you haven’t checked them out I would suggest reading Preacher or The Boys, both by Garth Ennis, if you haven’t already… I found them highly entertaining.

2 06 2008
dylan555

I sure will. My tastes (despite being in my 30s) still run toward the traditional but I’m enjoying more and more indy comics as I get older.

Leave a Reply

