More Interesting Publishing News

16 04 2008

The One-Story Magazine blogreported today that Small Beer Press is giving away a collection of short stories by John Kessel. The author apparently lives here in the Triangle area. I’ve downloaded it and considering what to do with it. It’s quite a number (347) of total pages. Where can you get it? Why are they doing it? What is this madness? Check it out here. I guess you can’t stop progress, though you can always buy it the old fashioned way at Powells Books.

Actions

Information

6 responses

16 04 2008
Shannon

Hi, hon- John Kessel is a science fiction writer who teaches at NC State. Knowing your reading tastes, I doubt you’ll like his stuff.

16 04 2008
dylan555

Well his latest book is on my hard drive now.

16 04 2008
Cliff Burns

Dylan: I like Kessel’s writing, myself, he’s on the literary end of science fiction, rather than one of those geeks with pocket protectors and taped together glasses. He’s proven his chops, respected by writers, like me, who cross genre boundaries and are equally at home in the mainstream and further afield.

16 04 2008
dylan555

Hmm, I will try to read it. Cliff, I have to warn you though, my wife Shannon is usually a pretty good judge of what I will and won’t like. This sounds more like her style of book and less like mine. We usually hate the books the other likes. It’s rare that we both love something.

16 04 2008
Cliff Burns

Read a story, try him on for size. All you can do…

17 04 2008
dylan555

Don’t worry, I will. I downloaded it so I figure I ought to do something with it.

Leave a Reply

