Watchmen and Star Wars

19 01 2008

So far this weekend I’ve been busy finishing The Watchmen and watching some of the original Star Wars movies – specifically The Empire Strikes Back and part of Return of the Jedi. These were some great movies, it’s a shame that George Lucas did such a poor job with the new movies.

Back to the Watchmen. I’m still digesting it, but I have to say it’s one of the most complex, well written, interesting pieces of literature I’ve read. It’s a comic book that seems to 250px-watchmencovers.pngtranscend the genre. The guy at the comics shop said I’d be depressed as hell at the end of it, but I don’t find that to be the case. I’m thinking about it, soaking in what it means and how it relates to themes of today. One could easily draw parallels between The Watchmen and the conspiracy theories that surround 9/11 and the war on terror.

I’m very interested now to see how they’ll put this complex work into a movie. I almost don’t blame Alan Moore for not wanting his name on the movie.

Now off to the pile of comics that remains. I bought the trade paperback of the original Omega the Unknown.

On another comics note, I saw this Comics Review from the AVClub.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

